You are here

You are here

  • The pierced aluminium panels covering most of the building work very effectively as they screen the light without obstructing the view - Ceuta Public Library, Ceuta, Spain.
    AKAA / Cemal Emden
19 projects shortlisted for 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Geneva, Switzerland, 9 May 2016 – The 19 shortlisted projects for the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today.  The projects, which were selected by the Master Jury from amongst 348 projects nominated for the 13th Award cycle, will be competing for US$ 1 million in prize money. The 19 projects are now undergoing rigorous investigations by on-site reviewers – architects, conservation specialists or structural engineers themselves – who visit and evaluate each project first-hand.  Their reports are the basis for the Master Jury’s selection of the eventual winners. 

For a full on-line press kit, which includes briefs on each project, high resolution images, broadcast-quality video (for use by television stations and websites) and other information, please see The 19 projects are:















The Aga Khan Award for Architecture’s mandate is different from that of many other architecture prizes: it selects projects – from slum upgrading to high rise “green” buildings – that not only exhibit architectural excellence but also improve the overall quality of life. Over the last four decades, it has steadfastly championed the needs and aspirations of human beings within the practice of architecture. The Award is also different because it not only rewards architects, but also identifies municipalities, builders, clients, master craftsmen and engineers who have played important roles in the realization of a project. Since the Award was launched 39 years ago, over 110 projects have received the award and more than 9,000 building projects have been documented.

The 2016 Award Master Jury
Projects commissioned by the Aga Khan or any of the institutions of the Aga Khan Development Network are ineligible for the Award.  For this cycle hundreds of nominators throughout the world proposed 348 projects from 69 countries, which were then reviewed by an independent Master Jury. The nine members of the 2016 Master Jury are:

  • Suad Amiry, Founder, Riwaq Centre for Architectural Conservation, Ramallah
  • Emre Arolat, Founder, EAA-Emre Arolat Architecture, Istanbul
  • Akeel Bilgrami, Sydney Morgenbesser Professor of Philosophy, Columbia University, New York
  • Luis Fernàndez-Galiano, Editor, Architectura Viva, Madrid
  • Hameed Haroon, Chief Executive Officer, Herald Publications, Karachi
  • Lesley Lokko, Head, Graduate School of Architecture, University of Johannesburg, Johannesburg
  • Mohsen Mostafavi, Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge
  • Dominique Perrault, Founder, Dominique Perrault Architecture, Paris
  • Hossein Rezai, Director, Web Structures, Singapore

For more information, please see the biographies of Master Jury members.

About the Aga Khan Award for Architecture
The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence.  The Award recognises examples of architectural excellence in the fields of contemporary design, social housing, community improvement and development, historic preservation, reuse and area conservation, as well as landscape design and improvement of the environment. The Award is governed by a Steering Committee chaired by His Highness the Aga Khan. The Steering Committee can suggest areas of interest, but it has no bearing on the final selections of the independent Master Jury.  The current members of the Steering Committee are:

  • His Highness the Aga Khan (Chairman)
  • David Adjaye, Principal, Adjaye Associates, London;
  • Mohammad al-Asad, Chairman, CSBE, Amman;
  • Francesco Bandarin, Assistant Director-General for Culture at UNESCO, Paris, France
  • Hanif Kara, Professor, Design Director and Co-Founder, AKTII, London;
  • Kamil Merican, Principal Designer and CEO, GDP Architects, Kuala Lumpur;
  • Azim Nanji, Special Advisor, Aga Khan University, Nairobi;
  • Professor Gülru Necipoglu, Director, Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture at Harvard University, Cambridge
  • Brigitte Shim, Partner, Shim-Sutcliffe Architects, Toronto
  • Yu Kongjian, Founder and Dean, Graduate School of Landscape Architecture, Peking University, Beijing

Farrokh Derakhshani is Director of the Award.

For more information, please see the biographies of Steering Committee.

Video News Release:
The AKAA VNR+ b-roll will be transmitted via EBU satellite from 11:00 to 11:30 am GMT on May 9th. EBU’s Worldlink will also offer the footage online at: The Award’s VNR+broll will be available in the section “rights free”.

TV Broadcast:
The shortlisted projects will also be featured in a series of programmes on TV 5 Monde, beginning on the 9th of May, in the following languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, Romanian, Russian and Vietnamese. For more information, please see TV 5 Monde.

For more information, please see the website ( and social media (Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, Linked In).
Press Kit:

Press contact:
Sam Pickens
Aga Khan Award for Architecture
PO Box 2049,
1211 Geneva 2,
Telephone: (41.22) 909.72.00