You are here

You are here

Project Finder

Master jury

1999-2001 Cycle : Master Jury

Darab Diba

Darab Diba is an Iranian architect, trained at the University of Geneva and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Liège. Professor Diba teaches theory and history of architecture and conducts design studios at Tehran University's Faculty of Fine Arts, and is chairman of the art, architecture, and urban planning department at the Islamic Azad University of Iran. Since 1985, he has been a member of the Iranian Ministry of Higher Education’s central committee for academic architectural more

Abdou Filali-Ansary

Abdou Filali-Ansary is a Moroccan social scientist, and Director of the Institute for the Study of Muslim Civilisations, Aga Khan University, London. Previously, he was Director of the King Abdul-Aziz Al Saud Foundation for Islamic Studies and Human Sciences in Casablanca. Mr. Filali-Ansary obtained a doctorate in philosophy from the University of Dijon, on the topic of “The Notion of Intuition in the Philosophy of Spinoza and Bergson”. He taught philosophy at the University of Rabat, and was then secretary general of the University of Mohamed V in more

Dogan Hasol

Dogan Hasol is a Turkish architect, writer, and publisher, trained in architecture at Istanbul Technical University. Dr. Hasol participated in the founding years of the architectural journal Mimarlik ve Sanat, and was later editor-in-chief of Mimarlik, the monthly journal of the Turkish Chamber of Architects. He served as the secretary general of the Istanbul branch of the Turkish Chamber of Architects from 1965 to more

Mona Hatoum

Mona Hatoum is an artist born into a Palestinian family in Beirut and, since 1975, has lived and worked in London, where she studied at Byam Shaw School of Art from 1975 to 1979, and at Slade School of Art from 1979 to 1981. She has held artist’s residencies in Britain, Canada, and the United States, and has taught in London, Maastricht, Paris, and Cardiff, where she was Senior Fellow at the Cardiff Institute of Higher Education from 1989 to more

Zahi Hawass

Zahi Hawass is an Egyptian archaeologist, director general of the Giza Pyramids and Saqqara. Awarded a Fulbright fellowship, he received his Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Pennsylvania in 1987. On the Giza plateau, Drread more

Ricardo Legorreta

Ricardo Legorreta is a Mexican architect, trained at the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de México, and the recipient of the Gold Medal of the American Institute of Architects (2000), the Gold Medal of the International Union of Architects (1999), and the Mexican Premio Nacional de las Artes (1992). His architectural work is characterised by the integration of traditional regional architecture in landscapes, with emphasis on light, colour, and bold more

Glenn Murcutt

Glenn Murcutt is an Australian architect, trained at the University of New South Wales. In private practice in Sydney, most of his works are domestic residences, set in isolated landscapes throughout Australia, or in urban centres such as Sydney. In 1992, he received the seventh Alvar Aalto Medal (Finland), and the jury praised his architecture for its convincing synthesis of regional characteristics, climate-conditioned solutions, technological rationality, and unconstrained visual more

Norani Othman

Norani Othman is a Malaysian sociologist, and associate professor and senior fellow at the Institute of Malaysian and International Studies, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Selangor, Malaysia. She is a research fellow affiliate at the Institute for Advanced Study in Berlin, where she was also an academic fellow from 1998 to more

Raj Rewal
Raj Rewal is an Indian architect and urban design consultant who studied architecture in New Delhi and London. His humanist approach to architecture responds to the complexities of rapid urbanisation, the demands of climate, cultural traditions, and building crafts and more