You are here

You are here

Kronos Quartet

Kronos Quartet


Artist Information

Performance year with AKMP:
2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
Country of Origin:
United States of America

The Aga Khan Music Initiative and the                            San Francisco-based Kronos Quartet have inaugurated a pioneering musical collaboration in 2008 – a partnership that brings the quartet together with leading musicians on AKMI roster to compose, arrange, and perform new music rooted in Eastern tradition. Founded 40 years ago, Kronos is celebrated for its singular commitment to expanding the range and context of the string quartet.

In 2008, the AKMI-Kronos collaboration produced two music programmes, featuring compositions by Homayoun Sakhi for Afghan rubab, tabla, and string quartet, and works for the Kronos Quartet and the Alim Qasimov Ensemble.

The third programme, inaugurated in 2014, features arrangements by Fodé Lassana Diabaté  and Jacob Garchik for Kronos Quartet and Trio Da Kali.

All new works are commissioned for the Kronos Quartet and Trio Da Kali by the Aga Khan Music Initiative, a program of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture, and the Kronos Performing Arts Association.

More information on the Kronos Quartet:



Name Performance year with AKMP
Kronos Quartet & Homayoun Sakhi Trio 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2016
Kronos Quartet & Alim Qasimov Ensemble 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016
Kronos Quartet & Trio Da Kali 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
Kronos Quartet with Wu Man, and Sirojiddin Juraev 2018
AKMI master musicians, Kronos Quartet and Bassekou Kouyaté 2018