2016 Award winners

2016 Award winners
Abu Dhabi, UAE, 3 October 2016 - The winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced in a ceremony in Abu Dhabi. The venue for the winners’ ceremony, the Al Jahili fort in Al-Ain, was also announced by His Excellency Awaidha Murshed Al Marar, Chairman of Department of Municipal Affairs and Transport and a member of the Executive Council of Abu Dhabi.The prize, which is given every three years, is considered to be one of the most important awards in the field. It was established by the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully addressed the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence.

During 2016, an independent Master Jury selected a shortlist of 19 projects, which was announced on 9 May 2016, from among 348 nominations. Each of the shortlisted projects was rigorously investigated by architects, conservation specialists or structural engineers. Their reports are the basis for the Master Jury’s selection of the eventual winners.

His Highness the Aga Khan's biography (English) (French) (Arabic)

Media advisory (English) (French) (Arabic) (Russian) (Chinese)

Master Jury statement (English) (French) (Arabic) (Russian) (Chinese)

Master Jury profiles (English) (French) (Arabic) (Russian) (Chinese)

Steering Committee profiles (English) (French) (Arabic) (Russian) (Chinese)

Winning projects' brief (English) (French) (Arabic) (Russian) (Chinese)

B-roll for broadcast media is available here.