Aga Khan Development Network

Switzerland home

Other Countries



News Archives

Aga Khan Award for Architecture Prize Doubled to US$ 1 Million
26 April 2012 - The Aga Khan Award for Architecture, considered by many architects and urban planners to be the most important award for architecture, announced a doubling of its prize to US$ 1 million.

Aga Khan Award for Architecture Announces Master Jury for 2010
08 January 2010 - The members of the Master Jury of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, which selects the recipients of the Award, were announced.

Steering Committee for Aga Khan Award's Eleventh Cycle (2008-2010) Announced
02 April 2008 - The Aga Khan Award for Architecture today announced the members of the new Steering Committee for the 11th Award cycle (2008 – 2010).

View all articles



The Aga Khan Foundation was founded by the Aga Khan in 1967, in Switzerland, as a private, international, non-denominational, non-profit development agency.

Today, Geneva, Switzerland is the registered home of:

Aga Khan Foundation (AKF)
Aga Khan Health Services (AKHS)
Aga Khan Agency for Microfinance (AKAM)
Aga Khan Fund for Economic Development (AKFED)
Aga Khan Planning and Building Services (AKPBS)
Aga Khan Education Services (AKES)
Aga Khan Trust for Culture (AKTC)
Aga Khan University Fund (AKUF)

Several AKDN agencies, including AKAM, AKF and AKTC, maintain small headquarters offices in Geneva; most staff are based in the field. AKFED’s Industrial Promotion Services (IPS) in Switzerland acts as a focal point and technical clearing house for IPS companies. It also mobilizes support for enterprises that are capable of contributing to the development of national and regional economies.

Geneva is also the location for the deliberations of the Master Jury of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, which is held every three years.

Return to top