You are here

You are here

  • View of mashrabiyya-type openings, and reflecting pool, Madinat al Zahra Museum, Cordoba, Spain.
    AKAA / Melissa Walsh, Maximillian Jacobson-Gonzalez
App for AKAA now available

19 January 2012 - The Aga Khan Award for Architecture app is now available for the iPhone, iPad and iTouch from the iTunes app store. It is free. To find it, simply search for “aga khan” or “architecture prize” in the iTunes search box or visit the iTunes store.

The application contains detailed documentation, including photos, videos, drawings and descriptions, of the 105 projects that have received the Award to date (through 2010). Among its features are: 

  • Images and Videos of the 2010 Award recipients, Chairman’s Award and 2010 shortlist
  • Searchable by Building Type, Cycle and Alphabetically
  • Live RSS feed of recent press releases/updates from the Award’s Home Page
  • Eligibility and nomination guidelines
  • Information on Steering Committee and Master Jury

 The app requires iOS 4.2 or later.

Established in 1977, the Aga Khan Award for Architecture is given every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation and landscape architecture. The Award seeks projects that represent the broadest possible range of architectural interventions, with particular attention given to building schemes that use local resources and appropriate technology in innovative ways, and those that are likely to inspire similar efforts elsewhere. Projects can be anywhere in the world, but must successfully address the needs and aspirations of societies in which Muslims have a significant presence.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture has a prize fund of US$ 500,000. The rigor of its nomination and selection process has made it, in the eyes of many observers, one of the world’s most important architectural prizes. Projects that have received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture include the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur, Institut du Monde Arabe in Paris, the Central Market of Koudougou, Burkina Faso, and the rehabilitation of the Walled City of Nicosia in Cyprus.