Latest News

His Highness the Aga Khan speaking at the Global Pluralism Awards
Inaugural Global Pluralism Award Ceremony
15 November 2017

This evening, three winners, Leyner Palacios of Colombia, Alice Nderitu of Kenya and Daniel Webb of Australia, were presented the Global Pluralism Awards 2017.

21 November 2017

Opening of a new PECTA Tourism Centre at Bulunkul, Tajikistan, supported by the Aga Khan Foundation (AKF) and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), July 2017. Photo:...

18 November 2017
RT @AKAcademies: Congratulations to the #AKAcademies and #FCBS and #SHATOTTO architecture for winning the #WAF2017 World Architecture Fest…
22 November 2017

#DidYouKnow? Nearly 50% of #Uganda’s electricity is supplied by the 250 megawatt Bujagali Hydropower Plant built by AKDN and the Government of Uganda, with financing from Blackstone Capital...

16 Nov 2017

AKDN: Preschool to university

$1 million
One million dollars are shared among prize winners, as determined by the independent Master Jury.  Half the prize money is a grant for promoting the replicable aspects of the design.
AKDN employs 80,000 people in over 30 countries around the world. AKDN also relies on thousands of volunteers to help implement and maintain its projects, notably at health and education facilities.
116 projects
116 projects have received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture over the last 40 years, often anticipating innovations, such as green buildings, or reflecting architectural discourse, such as a return to human scale.