1998 Cycle Steering Committee Members - Aga Khan Award for Architecture
Aga Khan Development Network

1998 Cycle Steering Committee Members

His Highness The Aga Khan, Chairman.

Dr. Selma Al-Radi is an Iraqi archaeologist and a research associate at New York University. She has worked in Yemen since 1977. In 1983, she undertook the restoration of the 16th-century Madrasa Al-Amiryah in the town of Rada', and is currently overseeing the final phase of the project, including the restoration of the internal wall paintings. She is also now completing the rehabilitation of the complex of Imamate palaces as the National Museum in Sana'a, Yemen, and preparing a catalogue of the museum's collections for publication. Dr. Al-Radi has excavated sites in Iraq, Egypt, Kuwait, Cyprus, Syria, and Yemen, and has published in Arabic and English. She was a member of the 1986 and 1995 Award Technical Reviews and of the 1989 and 1992 Steering Committees.

Professor Balkrishna V. Doshi is an Indian architect, educator, and academician. After initial study in Bombay, he worked with Le Corbusier in Paris (1951-1954) as senior designer, and then in India to supervise Corbusier's projects in Ahmedabad and Chandigarh. Professor Doshi established the Vastu-Shilpa Foundation for Studies and Research in Environmental Design in 1955, known for pioneering work in low-cost housing and city planning. Today, his internationally renowned projects are designed under the name of Vastu-Shilpa Consultants, with offices in Ahmedabad. As an academician, Professor Doshi has been visiting the U.S.A. and Europe since 1958, and has held important chairs in American universities. He has received numerous international awards and honours, including Padma Shri from the Government of India, and an honorary doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania, U.S.A. Professor Doshi served a member of the 1992 Award Master Jury, and was presented a 1995 Aga Khan Award for Architecture for the Aranya Community Housing in Indore, India.

Mr. Peter Eisenman is an American architect and educator. He is the Irwin S. Chanin Distinguished Professor at The Cooper Union in New York City and the principal of Eisenman Architects. Among his built projects are the Wexner Centre for the Arts and Fine Arts Library at the Ohio State University in Columbus, completed in 1989, and a project for social housing at Check-Point Charlie in Berlin. He has built two office buildings in Tokyo, a convention centre in Columbus, Ohio, and the Aronoff Centre for Design and Art in Cincinnati, Ohio. Mr. Eisenman was the founder and director of the Institute for Architecture and Urban Studies, an international think-tank for architectural ideas, from 1967 to 1980. Mr. Eisenman served as a member of the 1995 Award Master Jury.

Professor Charles Jencks, an American architect and architectural historian, is well-known as the critic who first defined post-modernism in architecture, an event which led to its subsequent definition in many fields. A visiting professor at the University of California at Los Angeles, he is the author of many books on architecture and culture, including The Language of Post-Modern Architecture (6th ed. 1981), What is Post-Modernism? (4th ed. 1996), and The Architecture of the Jumping Universe (1995). His recent work is on cosmogenic architecture and complexity theory. He lectures widely in the United States, Japan, and Europe, has made a number of television programmes on architecture, and designed important objects, including buildings, furniture, and landscape gardens. Professor Jencks served as a member of the 1995 Award Master Jury.

Mr. Adhi Moersid is an Indonesian architect in private practice with PT Atelier 6 Architects, where he is actively involved in the design, planning, and construction of Atelier 6 projects, and senior vice-president of Atelier 6 Holding Company. Mr. Moersid has been honorary chairman of the Indonesian Institute of Architects since 1989, and was deputy chairman of ARCASIA (Architects Regional Council Asia) from 1987 to 1989. He was a lecturer in the School of Design at the Jakarta Institute of Arts from 1970 to 1980, and continues to be an external examiner for several schools of architecture. In 1986, Mr. Moersid received an Honourable Mention from the Aga Khan Award for Architecture for the Saïd Naum Mosque in Jakarta. During the 1992 Award cycle, he served as a member of the Award Master Jury.

Mr. Luis Monreal, a Spanish historian, is currently director general of the Caixa Foundation in Barcelona. From 1985 to 1990, he was the director of the Getty Conservation Institute, and oversaw conservation of projects such as the Tomb of Nefertari in Upper Egypt, the Sphinx in Giza, and Buddhist temples in Mogao (Datong, China), as well as other major projects in Cyprus, Jordan, Cambodia, and Spain. Mr. Monreal was the secretary general of the International Council of Museums (ICOM) from 1974 to 1985, and responsible for the establishment or conservation of nine museums throughout the world. He has also served as the curator of the Marés Museum in Barcelona, and was a professor of the history of art and museology at the Autonomous University of Barcelona. Mr. Monreal has participated in numerous archaeological expeditions, to the High Atlas Mountains (Morocco), Nubia, Abkanarti (Sudan), and Masmas (Egypt). He was a member of the 1995 Award Master Jury.

Professor Azim Nanji was born in Nairobi, Kenya, attended schools in Kenya, Tanzania, and Makerere University in Uganda, and received his master's and doctoral degrees in Islamic Studies from McGill University. He has taught at both Canadian and American universities and was the Margaret Gest Professor for the Cross-Cultural Study of Religion at Haverford College, Pennsylvania. He is currently professor and chair of the Department of Religion at the University of Florida at Gainesville. Dr. Nanji is co-chair of the Islam Section at the American Academy of Religion, and a member of the Council of the Foundations Committee on Religions and Philanthropy. In 1995, Dr. Nanji was invited to deliver the baccalaureate address at Stanford University's convocation ceremonies. He served as a member of the Master Jury of the 1992 Aga Khan Award for Architecture, and edited a monograph on the Award entitled Building for Tomorrow, published by Academy Editions (1994).

Mr. Ali Shuaibi, a Saudi Arabian architect and planner, is a co-founder of Beeah Planners, Architects and Engineers, based in Riyadh, with projects in Saudi Arabia, Oman, Yemen, Pakistan and Djibouti. Mr. Shuaibi teaches design at King Saud University, and is co-editor of the Urban Heritage Encyclopaedia. Several of his projects have received national and international awards, including the Al-Kindi Plaza at Hayy Assafarat, the diplomatic quarter in Riyadh, which received an Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1989 and the Architectural Project Award of the Organisation of Arab Towns in 1990. With Beeah, he is currently at work on the National Museum in Riyadh, the Institute of Public Administration in Jeddah, and the Embassy of Saudi Arabia in Tunis. Mr. Shuaibi was a member of the 1992 Award Master Jury and the 1995 Award Steering Committee.