1995 Cycle Steering Committee Members - Aga Khan Award for Architecture
Aga Khan Development Network

1995 Cycle Steering Committee Members

His Highness The Aga Khan, Chairman

Sir Bernard Feilden, British architect, has over forty years of architectural experience covering a wide range of buildings. He built up a provincial practice which won many awards, and his philosophy was to design in context and to respect the environment, as he feels that architecture is a social art and should be humane. The successful conservation of Norwich Cathedral Spire led on to major works to prevent the collapse of the Central Tower of York Minster, so Feilden became more and more involved with the conservation of historic buildings. From 1977-1981, he was Director of the International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property in Rome (ICCROM), when he initiated the restoration of the dome of the Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem which received an Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1986. Subsequently, he has made several missions on behalf of UNESCO which included the Taj Mahal. Recently, he has concentrated on training architects for conservation and has given courses in China, India, Iran, Iraq, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, as well as lecturing in Rome.

Mr. Frank O. Gehry, Canadian architect, is the principal in charge of Frank O. Gehry and Associates, Incorporated, which he established in 1962. Mr. Gehry received his Bachelor of Architecture degree from the University of Southern California and studied city planning at Harvard University Graduate School of Design. His architectural career spans three decades and has produced public and private buildings in America, Japan and, most recently, Europe. The work of Mr. Gehry has been featured in major professional publications and national and international trade journals. In 1986, an exhibition entitled The Architecture of Frank O. Gehry travelled throughout North America from Minneapolis to Atlanta, Houston, Toronto and Los Angeles, ending at the Whitney Museum of Modern Art in New York City. In 1989, Mr Gehry was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize and was named a Trustee of the American Academy in Rome. In 1992, he received the Wolf Prize in Art and the Japan Art Association's Praemium Imperiale Award in Architecture. Mr. Gehry was a member of the 1992 Award Master Jury.

Mr. Arif Hasan, Pakistani architect and planner, social researcher and writer, studied architecture at the Oxford Polytechnic, U.K., from 1960 to 1965, and established an independent architecture practice in Karachi in 1968. A consultant to the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank, various U.N. agencies, and the Aga Khan Foundation, Mr. Hasan is renowned for his involvement with low-income settlement programmes, and is the architect of a large number of important residential, commercial, and educational facilities in Pakistan. The Orangi Pilot Project to which he is consultant has attracted international attention and, in 1990, the Japanese government presented Mr. Hasan with its International Year for the Shelterless Memorial Award.

Professor Renata Holod, Canadian specialist in the history of Islamic art and architecture, is professor and chair of the History of Art Department at the University of Pennsylvania. She has worked on a variety of topics, from archaeological investigations of Umayyad Syria and historical surveys of Isfahan, Yazd, and other sites in Iran, to problems of contemporary architecture in the Islamic world. She was Convenor of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture from 1978-80, member of the 1983 Steering Committee, and chair of the 1992 Master Jury. Professor Holod is currently at work on The Isfahan City Project, and Architecture in Greater Iran in the Fifteenth Century.

Professor Nurcholish Madjid, Indonesian historian of Islamic thought, is a lecturer in the postgraduate programme at the Institute of Islamic Studies in Jakarta, and a member of the Indonesian Institute of Science. In addition, he is the chairman and founder of the Paramadina Foundation, an organisation that is part of an effort to build an Islamic intellectual tradition in Indonesia and to link the country more closely to the rest of the Islamic world.

Mr. Ali Shuaibi, Saudi Arabian architect and planner, is the co-founder of Beeah Planners, Architects and Engineers, based in Riyadh, with projects in Saudi Arabia, Oman, Yemen, Pakistan and Djibouti. Mr. Shuaibi teaches design at King Saud University, and is co-editor of the Urban Heritage Encyclopaedia. Several of his projects have received national and international awards, including the al-Kindi Plaza at Hayy Assafarat, the diplomatic quarter in Riyadh, which received an Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1989 and the Architectural Project Award of the Organisation of Arab Towns in 1990. With his office, Beeah, he is currently at work on the National Museum in Riyadh, the Institute of Public Administration in Jeddah, and the Embassy of Saudi Arabia in Tunis, Tunisia. Mr. Shuaibi was a member of the 1992 Award Master Jury.

Mr. Dogan Tekeli, Turkish architect, has been in private practice with his partner, Sami Sisa, since 1952, when they graduated from Istanbul Technical University. Mr. Tekeli lectured in architectural design at the Maçka School of Architecture and Engineering of Istanbul Technical University, and was president of the Chamber of Turkish Architects for one term in 1957. Mr. Tekeli and his partner have won more than twenty design competitions in Turkey, and most of them have been realised. Among their works are the environmental design for the Fortress of Rumelia, a market complex in Istanbul (Manifaturacilar çarsisi), Lassa Tyre Factory in Izmit, and the Halkbank Headquarters in Ankara; they are presently working on an international passenger terminal for the Antalya Airport. Mr. Tekeli was a consultant to the Municipality of Istanbul from 1985-88, and is a member of the board of the Turkish Association of Consulting Engineers and Architects. He served as a member of the 1992 Award Master Jury.