1995 Cycle Cycle Master Jury Members - Aga Khan Award for Architecture
Aga Khan Development Network

1995 Cycle Cycle Master Jury Members

Professor Mohamed Arkoun, French academician of Algerian origin, is Professor of the History of Islamic Thought at the Sorbonne (Paris III), and visiting professor at universities in the United States, Europe, and the Muslim world. Professor Arkoun concentrates on classical Islam and contemporary issues of Islam facing modernity. He is associated with several European initiatives to re-think and re-shape the relationship between Europe, Islam, and the Mediterranean World. Professor Arkoun served as a member of the Award Steering Committee from 1983 to 1992.

Mr. Nayyar Ali Dada is a Pakistani architect whose numerous works have been recognised both at home and abroad. He has also pioneered the cause of conservation in Pakistan, and is a founding member of the Lahore Conservation Society. Mr. Dada is devoted to the education of young architects, and has been a lecturer at Lahore's National College of Arts since 1965; he was named a Fellow of the College in 1976. Mr. Dada is actively involved in the creative arts in Pakistan, both as an artist working in the medium of watercolour, and as the director of a private gallery as well as board member and advisor to many cultural institutions. In 1992, Mr. Dada was presented with the President's Pride of Performance Award for his services to Pakistan.

Mr. Darmawan Prawirohardjo is an Indonesian architect who received his training at the Bandung Institute of Technology. He is the president of Atelier 6 Architects and Planners, and responsible for the design of a number of the firm's important completed buildings. Mr. Darmawan is dedicated to the architectural profession in Indonesia and South East Asia, and served as the President of the Indonesian Institute of Architects and Deputy Chairman of the Regional Council of Asian Architects (ARCASIA). He regularly serves as a member of competition juries in Indonesia and, as a participating architect, has himself won a number of important architectural competitions.

Mr. Peter Eisenman is an American architect and educator. He is the Irwin S. Chanin Distinguished Professor at the Cooper Union and the principal of Eisenman Architects in New York City. Among his built projects are the Wexner Centre for the Arts and Fine Arts Library at the Ohio State University in Columbus, completed in 1989, and a project for social housing at Check-Point Charlie in Berlin. He has built two office buildings in Tokyo, a convention centre in Columbus, Ohio, and construction has begun on the Aronoff Centre for Design and Art in Cincinnati, Ohio. Mr. Eisenman was the founder and director of the Institute for Architecture and Urban Studies, an international think-tank for architectural ideas, from 1967 to 1980.

Professor Charles Jencks, American architect and architectural historian, is well-known as the critic who first defined post-modernism in architecture, an event which led to its subsequent definition in many fields. A visiting professor at the University of California at Los Angeles, he is the author of many books on architecture and culture, including The Language of Post-Modern Architecture, What is Post-Modernism?, and The Post-Modern-Reader. His recent work is on cosmogenic architecture and complexity theory. He lectures widely in the United States, Japan, and Europe, has made a number of television programmes on architecture, and designed important objects including buildings, furniture, and landscape gardens.

Mr. Mehmet Konuralp, Turkish architect, received his training in architecture and city planning at the Architectural Association in London. He began his professional practice in 1965 in London with Richard Sheppard, Robson and Partners, and established a private practice in Istanbul upon his return to Turkey in 1969. During this same period, he was a lecturer and design tutor, and still maintains close ties with schools of architecture in Istanbul as a guest lecturer and tutor. Mr. Konuralp's completed work has focused on public and administrative buildings, art facilities and cultural centres, and housing.

Mr. Luis Monreal, Spanish historian, is currently Director General of the Caixa Foundation in Barcelona. From 1985 to 1990, he was the director of the Getty Conservation Institute, and oversaw conservation of such projects as the Tomb of Nefertari in Upper Egypt, the Sphinx in Giza, and Buddhist Temples in Mogao (Datong, China), as well as other major projects in Cyprus, Jordan, Cambodia, and Spain. Mr. Monreal was the Secretary General of the International Council of Museums (ICOM) from 1974 to 1985, and responsible for the establishment or conservation of nine museums throughout the world. He has also served as the curator of the Marés Museum in Barcelona, and was a professor of the history of art and museology at the Autonomous University of Barcelona. Mr. Monreal has participated in numerous archaeological expeditions, to the High Atlas Mountains (Morocco), Nubia, Abkanarti (Sudan), and Masmas (Egypt).

Dr. Ismaïl Serageldin is an Egyptian architect and planner. He is a Vice President of the World Bank in Washington, D.C., responsible for the department for Environmentally Sustainable Development and for a wide array of special programmes dealing with poverty, environment, and socio-economic development. He is the author of numerous publications in English, French, and Arabic on the subjects of poverty, development, architecture, and Muslim societies, and his recent publications include Space for Freedom and Innovation and Authenticity in the Architecture of Muslim Societies. Dr. Serageldin was a member of the 1983 Award Master Jury, and of the Award Steering Committee for the 1986, 1989, and 1992 cycles.

Professor Alvaro Siza, Portuguese architect, completed his first built project in 1954. He has taught at the School of Architecture at the University of Porto since 1966, and has been a visiting professor at the Ecole Polytechnique of Lausanne, the University of Pennsylvania, Los Andes University of Bogotá, and the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University. The Portuguese Department of the International Association of Art Critics awarded him its Prize of Architecture in 1982, and he received the Portuguese Association of Architects' Award in 1987. In 1988, he was awarded the Gold Medal of the Spanish "Colegio de Architectos", the Gold Medal of the Alvar Aalto Foundation, Harvard University's Prince of Wales' Prize in urban design, and the European Award of Architecture by the European Economic Community and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation (Barcelona). In 1992, Professor Siza received the Pritzker Prize for the corpus of his work and, in 1993, he received the Portuguese Association of Architects' National Prize of Architecture. He was made Doctor Honoris Causa by the University of Valencia (1992) and by the Ecole Polytechnique of Lausanne (1993).