Eligibility Criteria - Aga Khan Award for Architecture
Aga Khan Development Network

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for consideration in the 2013 Award cycle, projects must be completed between 1 January 2006 and 31 December 2011and have been in use for at least one full year.

The Award seeks nominations that represent the broadest possible range of architectural interventions. All types of building projects that affect today’s environment may be submitted. These include architectural projects ranging from modest, small-scale buildings to sizable complexes, from single homes, bus stops and rural school buildings to sky scrapers, infrastructure and transportation undertakings, housing initiatives, educational and health campuses, new towns, urban conservation projects and the re-use of brown field sites. All forms of planning practice in urban as well as rural contexts are encouraged. Large projects and long-term initiatives that are not yet fully completed – such as master plans, area preservation projects, and community upgrading schemes, among others – are eligible so long as a tangible portion of the project has been completed in a manner that demonstrates its long-term potential success and viability.

For the twelfth cycle (2011-2013), the Award particularly encourages the submission of projects in rural landscapes, urban peripheries and those that deal with public space at all scales.

Architecture that reflects the pluralism that has characterized Muslim societies and communities around the world is encouraged. There are no fixed criteria for the type, nature, location, or cost of projects to be considered, although eligible projects must be designed for or used by Muslims, in part or in whole, wherever they are located.

To ensure the continuing impartiality of the Award procedures, projects affiliated with or commissioned by His Highness the Aga Khan or the agencies of the Aga Khan Development Network cannot be considered, including those undertaken by current members of the Award Steering Committee and Master Jury, or by the Boards or staff of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and Aga Khan Development Network.