Aga Khan Development Network

AKU home

Medical College

School of Nursing


Institute for Educational Development

AKU in Pakistan

AKU in Afghanistan

AKU in East Africa

AKU in Middle East

AKU in the United Kingdom

Board of Trustees

AKU website

Other AKDN agencies

Other AKDN focus areas


The Aga Khan University: Board of Trustees

The Aga Khan University is governed by a diverse, reputable and multi-national Board of Trustees. The Board is in charge of undertaking crucial decisions on the policies guiding the institution as well overseeing the collection and dispensation of funds and donations.

His Highness the Aga Khan

B O A R D     O F     T R U S T E E S

Dr. Haile T. Debas
Chairman (pro tem), Board of Trustees
Senior Global Health Advisor and Director, UC Global Health Institute
University of California, San Francisco
Princess Zahra Aga Khan 
Director, Social Welfare Department, French Delegation of the AKDN Foundation
Dr. J. Robert Buchanan
Former Dean, Cornell University Medical College and General Director (CEO), Emeritus
Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
Trustee Emeritus, AKU

Dr. Phillip L. Clay
Professor of Urban Studies and Planning and Former Chancellor
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dr. Roderick D. Fraser
President Emeritus and Professor Emeritus, University of Alberta
Mr. Munnawar Hamid, OBE
Chairman, Linde Pakistan

Dr. Calestous Juma
Director of the Science, Technology, and Globalization Project and Professor of the Practice of International Development, John F. Kennedy School of Government

Mr. Yusuf Habib Keshavjee
Chairman, White Rose Group of Companies, East Africa
Former Chairman, Aga Khan Foundation, East Africa
Former President, Aga Khan Council for Kenya

Mr. Naguib Kheraj
Senior Advisor to the Aga Khan Development Network and Director of Standard Chartered Group

Mr. Zakir Mahmood
Former President and CEO, Habib Bank Limited

Dr. David Naylor
Former President, University of Toronto

Mr. Firoz Rasul

President and Chief Executive Officer, Aga Khan University


Mr Robert H. Edwards
Former President, Bowdoin College and Carleton College

Mr. Karim N. Sayani
Board Secretary


Return to top