Aga Khan Development Network

AKAA home

Award Procedures

Submission Procedures

Review and Selection Procedures

Announcement of Awards

Cyclical Calendar

Chairman's Award

International and Regional Seminars

Steering Committee
and Master Jury

Previous Award Cycles

AKAA Publications

AKTC home

Other AKDN agencies


Award Procedures

Project Submission Procedures Open to Everyone

Procedures for the identification of projects for consideration in the Award have been revised to permit all individuals everywhere to submit recommendations. The location and nature of eligible projects have also been broadened.

Eligibility Criteria
Eligibility criteria for the 11th Award Cycle focus on projects completed during the last two cycles of the Award, covering the six-year period from 2003 through 2008. Accordingly, eligible projects must be completed and have been in use for at least one full year between the period 1 January 2003 and 31 December 2008. Large and/or long-term projects that are not yet fully completed – such as urban design, area conservation, and community upgrading schemes, among others – are also eligible so long as a tangible portion has been completed and demonstrates the potential success of the long-term project.”

The Award embraces all types of building projects that affect today’s environments, ranging from modest small-scale interventions to major complexes and urban or regional design. Recommendations for nomination may include initiatives for housing, for community and neighbourhood projects, and for those that focus on urban areas and issues. Projects may also address infrastructure, transportation, industry, offices and commercial facilities, and educational and health facilities, to name but a few. The Award invites younger architects and emerging talents to submit their works. Architects and other project personnel may submit their own projects for consideration in the Award.

In addition, the Award is encouraging submissions under the following three categories for the 2010 cycle, which are currently under-represented among nominated projects:

The Award’s objective is to encourage architecture that reflects the pluralism that has always characterised Muslim communities. There are no fixed criteria for the type, nature, location or cost of projects to be considered, although eligible projects must be designed for or used by Muslim communities, in part or in whole, wherever they are located.

To ensure the continuing impartiality of the Award procedures, no projects may be considered that are commissioned by His Highness the Aga Khan, the Aga Khan Development Network, or affiliated institutions and/or agencies, or those that are undertaken by current members of the Award Steering Committee, Master Jury, or Award staff, or by the Boards or staff of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and Development Network.

Return to top