Aga Khan Development Network

AKAA home

Award Procedures

Submission Procedures

Review and Selection Procedures

Announcement of Awards

Cyclical Calendar

Chairman's Award

International and Regional Seminars

Steering Committee
and Master Jury

Previous Award Cycles

AKAA Publications

AKTC home

Other AKDN agencies


Chairman's Award

Lifetime Achievements of Hassan Fathy
Hassan FathyThe first Chairman's Award was given in 1980 to Hassan Fathy, an Egyptian architect, artist and poet in acknowledgement of his lifelong commitment to architecture in the Muslim world. Early in his career he began to study the pre-industrial building systems of Egypt to understand their aesthetic qualities, to learn what they had to teach about climate control and economical construction techniques and to find ways to put them to contemporary use.
> Find out more

Lifetime Achievements of Rifat Chadirji
Rifat ChadirjiThe second Chairman's Award was given in 1986 to Rifat Chadirji, Iraqi architect, critic and teacher, for a lifetime dedicated to the search for an appropriate contemporary architectural expression that synthesises elements of the rich Islamic cultural heritage with key principles of the international architecture of the 20th century. Chadirji believes that architecture's future lies in lessons learned from its past. His designs are transformations of regional forms that seek to express, by means of abstraction, the construction technologies in almost universal use today, while affirming the aesthetic values the latter engender.
> Find out more

Lifetime Achievements of Geoffrey Bawa
Geoffrey BawaGeoffrey Bawa is Sri Lanka's most prolific and influential architect. His work has had tremendous impact upon architecture throughout Asia and is unanimously acclaimed by connoisseurs of architecture worldwide. Surprisingly, however, his architecture is not well known outside the region, and has not received the international attention it deserves. On only the third occasion since he founded the Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1977, His Highness the Aga Khan will present the special Chairman's Award during the 2001 Award cycle to Mr. Bawa to honour and celebrate his lifetime achievements in and contribution to the field of architecture.
> Find out more

Return to top