Aga Khan Development Network

AKAA home

The Eighth Award Cycle

Report of the Master Jury

Awards Recipients

Map of Award Recipients

Chairman's Award

Interview with HH the Aga Khan

Other Award Cycles


The Eighth Award Cycle, 1999-2001

Award Presentation Ceremony
Citadel of Aleppo, Syria

Seminars and Publications
Modernity and Community: Architecture in the Islamic World, which includes full descriptions and illustrations of the nine winning projects of The Aga Khan Award for Architecture, as well as essays by Kenneth Frampton and Charles Correa. Available from Thames & Hudson publishers.

2001 Steering Committee
His Highness The Aga Khan, Chairman
Selma al-Radi, Archaeologist, Baghdad and New York
Charles Correa, Architect, Mumbai
Kenneth Frampton, Architect and Architectural Historian, New York
Frank O. Gehry, Architect, Los Angeles
Zaha Hadid, Architect, London
Luis Monreal, Historian and Archaeologist, Barcelona
Azim Nanji, Professor of History of Religions, London
Ali Shuaibi, Architect, Riyadh

2001 Master Jury
Abdou Filali-Ansari, Philosopher, Casablanca
Darab Diba, Architect, Tehran
Dogan Hasol, Architect and Publisher, Istanbul
Zahi Hawass, Archaeologist, Cairo
Mona Hatoum, Artist, London
Ricardo Legorreta, Architect, Mexico City and Los Angeles
Glenn Murcutt, Architect, Sydney
Norani Othman, Sociologist, Selangor
Raj Rewal, Architect, New Delhi

Contact the Press Officer
The Information Department
60270 Gouvieux
Telephone: +
Fax: +

Return to top