Aga Khan Development Network

AKAA home

The Tenth Award Cycle

Background Information

Video of the Recipients

2007 Master Jury

Building for Islam

Other Award Cycles


The Tenth Award Cycle 2005-2007

On 4 September 2007, at a ceremony held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, His Highness the Aga Khan announced the nine recipients of the 2007 Aga Khan Award for Architecture. Founded in 1977, the Award marked its 30th anniversary in 2007, and the completion of the 10th cycle of the programme.


4 September 2007 - Nine projects Receive 2007 Aga Khan Award for Architecture (Press Release and Slide Show)

Full Background Information and On-line Press Kit

Video of the Recipients of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Profiles of 2007 Master Jury (PDF)

Award Recipients
The nine projects selected by the 2007 Award Master Jury were:

University of Technology PetronasWith its emblematic high-tech architecture, the University of Technology Petronas provides an inspiring structure for progressive education in this rapidly developing nation. The Award will be presented to the architects, Foster + Partners and GDP Architects, and the Petronas Corporation (the Petronas Towers won an Award in the 2004 cycle).


Rehabilitation of the Walled City of NicosiaIn 1979, the representatives of the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot communities held a historic meeting under United Nations auspices to create a master plan for the Rehabilitation of the Walled City of Nicosia. A collaborative and sustained effort, the project has been successful in reversing the city’s physical and economic decline, using architectural restoration and reuse as the catalyst for improvement to the quality of life on both sides of this divided city. The representatives of the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot communities will share the Award with the Nicosia Master Plan team.


Samir Kassir SquareThe Samir Kassir Square is a restrained and serene urban public space that skilfully handles the conditions and infrastructure of its location in a city that has undergone rapid redevelopment. The Award will go to Vladimir Djurovic, the pre-eminent landscape architect working in Lebanon today.


Rehabilitation of the City of ShibamThe Rehabilitation of the City of Shibam is part of a project that focuses on the preservation of this unique place as a living community, with architectural restoration integrated into the creation of new economic and social structures. The Award recipients are the Yemeni government and its cultural agencies, the German Technical Cooperation (GTZ) and the community of Shibam.


Koudougou’s Central MarketKoudougou’s Central Market introduces simple improvements to a traditional material - stabilised earth - to create an important space for civic exchange and economic opportunity, helping enhance and strengthen a mid-sized town in Burkina Faso. The Award will be shared by the Koudougou Municipality, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the architects, Laurent Séchaud and Pierre Jéquier.


Amiriya ComplexWith its reliance on local knowledge and experience, the Restoration of the Amiriya Complex in Yemen saw the revival of lost techniques of building and ornamentation. The project represents a milestone in the protection of cultural heritage in Yemen. The Award will be presented to the project directors, renowned Iraqi archaeologist and restorer Selma Al-Radi and her Yemeni counterpart, Yahya Al-Nasiri.


Moulmein Rise Residential TowerWithin the constraints of a developer-driven brief, the Moulmein Rise Residential Tower uses innovative techniques and detailing that combine new principles for tropical design and improvements for high-rise living. Wong Mun Summ and Richard Hassell, partners at the Singapore firm WOHA Architects will receive the Award.


Royal Netherlands Embassy in Addis AbabaThe guiding principle in the construction of the Royal Netherlands Embassy in Addis Ababa was a respect for place while addressing the functional requirements of a working embassy, resulting in a contemporary structure that fully engages its local environment. The Dutch architects Dick van Gameren and Bjarne Mastenbroek will receive the Award, together with the Ethiopian architects at the firm ABBA Architects.


School in Rudrapur, BangladeshHand-built in four months by the local community and volunteer architects from Germany and Austria, the School in Rudrapur, Bangladesh, makes use of easily available local materials to create a new model for school construction that is beautiful, simple and humane. The architects Anna Heringer and Eike Roswag will share the Award with the craftsmen and volunteers who assisted in the building, and the Bangladeshi NGO for sustainable rural development, Dipshikha.

For media enquiries regarding the 2007 Aga Khan Award Recipients or previous Award cycles, please contact us.

Return to top