Aga Khan Development Network

AKAA home

Award Procedures

Submission Procedures

Review and Selection Procedures

Announcement of Awards

Cyclical Calendar

Chairman's Award

International and Regional Seminars

Steering Committee
and Master Jury

Previous Award Cycles

AKAA Publications

AKTC home

Other AKDN agencies


Announcement of Awards

Ceremonies to honour the winning projects and mark the close of each triennial cycle are held in settings selected for their importance to Islamic architecture: Shalimar Gardens in Lahore (1980), Topkapi Palace in Istanbul (1983), Badi' Palace in Marrakesh (1986), Saladin's Citadel in Cairo (1989), Registan Square in Samarkand (1992), Karaton Surakarta in Solo (1995), the Alhambra in Granada (1998), the Citadel of Aleppo (2001), the Gardens of Emperor Humayun’s Tomb in Delhi (2004), and the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur (2007).

A seminar to present the awarded projects to a wider public follows each ceremony and provides a forum for the participants to debate issues of contemporary architecture. A major monograph bringing together descriptions of the winning projects, the Jury deliberations, and essays by both Master Jury and Steering Committee members is published on the occasion of the Award Ceremony.