You are here
You are here

You are here

Awards and Honours

Titles, decorations, honorary degrees and awards

The title of Aga Khan was first granted to Aga Hassanaly Shah, the 46th Ismaili Imam, by the Shah of Persia, in the 1830s. The title of His Highness was granted by Her Majesty the Queen of England (1957) and His Royal Highness was granted by His Imperial Majesty the Shah of Iran (1959)


Commander of the Order of Merit, Mauritania (1960)
Grand Cross of the Order of Infante D. Henrique, Portugal (1960)
Grand Cross of the National Order, Ivory Coast (1965)
Grand Cross of the National Order, Upper Volta (1965)
Grand Cross of the National Order, Madagascar (1966)
Grand Cross of the Order of the Green Crescent, Comoros, (1966)
Grand Cordon of the Order of the Crown of Iran, Nishan-i-Taj-i-Iran (1967)
Nishan-i-Imtiaz, Pakistan, (1970)
Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic (1977)
Grand Officer of the National Order of the Lion, Senegal (1982)
Nishan-e-Pakistan (1983)
Grand Cordon of Ouissam-al Arch, Morocco (1986)
Knight of Labour, Cavaliere del Lavoro, Italy (1988)
Commander of the Legion of Honour, France (1990)
Grand Cross of the Order of Civil Merit, Spain (1991)
Grand Cross of the Order of Merit, Portugal (1998)
Order of Friendship, Tajikistan (1998)
Order of Bahrain (First Class) (2003)
Knight Commander of the British Empire (KBE), United Kingdom (2004)
Honorary Companion of the Order of Canada (2005)
Grand Cross of the Military Order of Christ, Portugal (2005)
Chief of the Order of the Golden Heart, Kenya (2007)
Grand Cross of the National Order of Mali (2008)
Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters, France (2010)
Order of Danaker, Kyrgyz Republic (2016)  
Most Excellent Order of Pearl of Africa, The Grandmaster, Uganda (2017)

His Excellency Yoweri Museveni, President of Uganda, presents His Highness the Aga Khan with the Most Excellent Order of the Pearl of Africa.
AKDN / Zahur Ramji

Honorary Degrees

LL.D. (honoris causa) University of Peshawar, Pakistan (1967)
LL.D. (honoris causa) University of Sind, Pakistan (1970)
LL.D. (honoris causa)  McGill University, Canada (1983)
LL.D. (honoris causa)  McMaster University, Canada (1987)
D. Litt. (honoris causa) University of London, United Kingdom (1989)
LL.D. (honoris causa)  University of Wales, United Kingdom (1993)
LL.D. (honoris causa) Brown University, USA (1996)
Honorary Professorship of the University of Osh, Kyrgyzstan (2002)
LL.D. (honoris causa) University of Toronto, Canada (2004)
Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters, American University of Beirut, Lebanon (2005)
Honorary Doctorate, University of Évora, Portugal (2006)
Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters, American University in Cairo, Egypt (2006)
Honorary Doctorate, University of Sankoré, Mali (2008)
LL.D. (honoris causa) Harvard University, USA (2008)
LL.D.(honoris causa), National University of Ireland, Maynooth, Ireland (2008)
LL.D. (honoris causa), University of Alberta, Canada (2009)
Honorary Doctorate of Divinity, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom (2009)
LL.D. (honoris causa) University of Ottawa, Canada (2012)
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Sacred Letters from Trinity College, University of Toronto, Canada (2013)

His Highness the Aga Khan at the University of Ottawa where he was confered the honorary degree Doctor of the University, 13 January 2012.
AKDN / Zahur Ramji


Honorary Membership, Pakistan Medical Association, Sind, Pakistan (1981)
Thomas Jefferson Memorial Foundation Medal in Architecture, University of Virginia, USA (1984)
Institute Honor of the American Institute of Architects, USA (1984)
Honorary Fellowship of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan (CPSP), Pakistan (1985)
Gold Medal of the Consejo Superior de Colegios de Arquitectos, Spain (1987)
Honorary Citizen of Granada, Spain (1991)
Honorary Fellowship, Royal Institute of British Architects, United Kingdom (1991)
Silver Medal of the Académie d'Architecture, France (1991)
Honorary Member of the American Institute of Architects, USA (1992)
Honorary Citizen of the City of Samarkand, Uzbekistan (1992)  
Hadrian Award, World Monuments Fund, USA (1996)
Key to the City of Lisbon, Portugal (1996)
Gold Medal of the City of Granada, Spain (1998)
Archon Award, International Nursing Honour Society, Sigma Theta Tau International, Denmark (2001)
Insignia of Honour, International Union of Architects, France (2001)
State Award for Peace and Progress, Kazakhstan (2002)
Honorary Citizen of the Islamic Ummah of Timbuktu, Mali (2003)
Vincent Scully Prize, National Building Museum, USA (2005)
Honorary Citizen of Dar es-Salaam, Tanzania (2005)
Key to the City of Ottawa, Canada (2005)
Die Quadriga Award, Germany (2005)
Andrew Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy, UK (2005)
Tolerance Prize of the Evangelical Academy of Tutzing, Germany (2006)
Key to the City of Austin, USA (2008)
Citizen of Honour of the Municipality of Timbuktu, Mali (2008)
Associate Foreign Member, Académie des Beaux-Arts, France (2008)
Honoured Educator of the Republic of Kazakhstan (2008)
Personality of the Year 2008, International Association for Spiritual Renewal “Ruhaniat”, Kyrgyzstan (2009)
Foreign Member of the Sciences Academy of Lisbon, Portugal (2009)
Grand Mécène and Grand Donateur (Grand Patron and Grand Donor) of the Ministry of Culture, France (2009)
Honorary Citizenship of Canada (2009)
University of California San Francisco Medal, USA (2011)
ULI  J.C. Nichols Prize for Visionaries in Urban Development, USA (2011)
David Rockefeller Bridging Leadership Award, United Kingdom (2012)
Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) gold medal, Canada (2013)
North South Prize, Council of Europe, Portugal (2014)
Padma Vibhushan, India (2015)
Adrienne Clarkson Prize for Global Citizenship (2016)


His Highness the Aga Khan is the recipient of the 2013 RAIC Gold Medal, presented to him by Paul Frank, President of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.
AKDN / Farhez Rayani